AT THE COURT OF THE MEDICI

On 14 November 2012, Italian tradition encountered Parisian luxury: the Magliabechiano Room, a sumptuous showcase for some of the rarest books in Italy, provided the setting for a donation of a copy of the limited edition tome Goyard, Malletier. Maison fondée en 1792 to the Uffizi Library in Florence. Florence, cradle of Italy’s artistic heritage, is […]

AUGUSTE RODIN: THE SECRET PERFECTION OF THE UNFINISHED

“All of Paris has been flocking there for days.” Thus Gil Blas announced the exhibition of 144 erotic drawings by Rodin that opened on 19 October 1908 at the Devambez Gallery. The scandalous sketches and quickly executed watercolours hung in the gallery’s salons were like captured moments, “readings of movements at first sight”, where, as […]

EXCLUSIVE DEVAMBEZ ARTISTS

In the early 1930s, Devambez became a leading light in the emerging field of product advertising, working exclusively with four of the most important poster designers in Paris at the time. Cappiello produced some of the most famous advertising images of the period, Roger de Valerio came up with a dashing image for Maurice Chevalier […]

THE 1921 “GOLDEN MASK” ALMANACH

“The battle [was] now afoot between costly fashion and comfortable fashion”: fashion abandoned the corset under the banner of emancipation and freedom of movement, and shapes became simpler in the name of clean, elegant outlines. Sportsmen (the English word was used in chic French parlance) flocked to the racecourses, reserved for a modern elite who […]

THE 1922 ‘GOLDEN MASK’ ALMANACH

“A nostalgic chant that slowly rises, then swells, spreading like a rumbling storm that suddenly breaks”. 1922 was the year of jazz and American music hall. It was also the year of avant-garde extravagance, of Futurism and Dada, of experimental music where “noise replaces sound […] and harmony gives way to dissonance”. “Fashion philosophy of […]

A WELL DRESSED GENTLEMAN SHOULD NOT BE CONSPICUOUS

“A well dressed gentleman should not be conspicuous. […] Looking with blithe condescension upon the extravagant suits, oversized collars, gold chains and pointed hats of the Bohemian bousingots, the dandies, as true upholders of elegance, restrict themselves to embracing the principles – which constitute a philosophy of life – upheld by their undisputed master, Lord […]

BOHEMIANISM IN MONTMARTRE

“The exhibitors present views of Montmartre, pictures of the heroes and regulars who throng to this Parisian district with its special character; we also see, perpetuated in pastel or crayon, aspects of the “Boulevardier” spirit and the boulevards themselves, and the allure of an elegant outline or a charming gesture, depicted with breathless curiosity”. The […]

THE RIGHT CHOICE OF LINE

“The journal of elegance, good manners and everything of interest to gentlemen”: distinction was the hallmark of Monsieur, a monthly magazine launched in Paris in 1920 in an exclusive numbered edition of 100 copies signed by the publisher, and featuring a series of original engravings. Monsieur quickly became the essential reference “not for dandies, but […]

THE NEW PARIS : BOULEVARD HAUSSMANN

When Baron Haussmann replaced M. Berges as Prefect of the Seine in June 1853, the outer edge of Paris was still defined by the so-called boulevards extérieurs. The Boulevard de la Chapelle, the Boulevard Rochechouart, the Boulevard de Clichy, the Boulevard de Batignolles and the Boulevard de Courcelles formed a “symbolic frontier” that followed the […]

À LA COUR DES MÉDICIS

Le 14 novembre 2012, le salon Magliabechiano, écrin somptueux des ouvrages les plus rares de la bibliophilie italienne, a été le cadre du don d’un des exemplaires de l’édition à tirage limité Goyard, Malletier. Maison fondée en 1792 à la Bibliothèque des Uffizi de Florence. Florence, perle du patrimoine artistique italien, est la destination naturelle […]

AUGUSTE RODIN : LA PERFECTION SECRÈTE DU NON FINI

« Tout Paris y défile depuis des jours. » Gil Blas annonce ainsi l’exposition de 144 dessins érotiques de Rodin inaugurée le 19 octobre 1908 à la galerie Devambez. Les croquis sulfureux et les aquarelles aux traits rapides qui animent les salons sont autant d’instantanés, des « lectures de mouvements à première vue », où […]

NE DESSINENT QUE POUR DEVAMBEZ

Au tournant des années 30, Devambez s’impose sur le marché de la naissante publicité de produits, s’assurant la collaboration exclusive de quatre des plus importants affichistes actifs à l’ombre de la tour Eiffel. Si Cappiello signe pour Devambez quelques-unes des images promotionnelles les plus célèbres de l’époque, Roger de Valerio marque l’image « galante » du Cherry […]

ALMANACH 1921, SOUS L’ENSEIGNE DU MASQUE D’OR

« La lutte est engagée, désormais, entre la mode coûteuse et la mode aisée » : la mode abandonne le corset au nom de l’émancipation et de la liberté de mouvement du corps, les formes se simplifient au nom d’une linéarité élégante. Les sportsmen remplissent les hippodromes pendant les courses, réservées à une élite moderne […]

ALMANACH DU MASQUE D’OR, 1922

« Une mélopée nostalgique qui monte lentement, puis s’élargit, et s’étend comme l’orage qui gronde et éclate soudain » : 1922, c’est l’année du jazz et du music-hall américain. Mais aussi celle des extravagances avant-gardistes, du futurisme et de Dada, de la musique expérimentale où « les bruits remplacent le son […] et l’harmonie cède […]

UN HOMME BIEN MIS NE DOIT PAS ÊTRE REMARQUÉ

« Un homme bien mis ne doit pas être remarqué. […] Méprisant cordialement les costumes extravagants, les cols énormes, les chaînes d’or et les chapeaux pointus de ces bohèmes de Bousingots », les dandys, « élégants véritables », se bornent à appliquer en règle d’art le premier principe – véritable philosophie de vie – de […]

TOUTE LA BOHÈME DE MONTMARTRE

« Ce sont des visions de Montmartre, des effigies des héros et des habitués de cette région parisienne d’un caractère si particulier que les exposants nous présentent, ce sont aussi des aspects du Boulevard et des boulevards brossés dans l’émoi d’une curiosité, dans l’attrait d’une silhouette d’élégance, d’un geste charmeur, que nous retrouvons perpétués par le […]

MONSIEUR, « REVUE DES ÉLÉGANCES »

« Revue des élégances, des bonnes manières et de tout ce qui intéresse Monsieur », Monsieur devient rapidement la référence absolue « non pas du dandy, mais de l’homme élégant », cet homme distingué, au style intemporel, dont le « prestige est au prix d’une certaine lenteur et d’un mépris apparent du temps ». La distinction est en effet la marque […]

LE NOUVEAU PARIS : BOULEVARD HAUSSMANN

Le mur murant Paris rend Paris murmurant : lorsqu’en juin 1853 le baron Haussmann remplace M. Berges à la Préfecture de la Seine, Paris est encore limité par la ligne des « boulevards extérieurs ». Les boulevards de la Chapelle, Rochechouart, de Clichy, de Batignolles, de Courcelles sont la « frontière symbolique » de la ville, correspondant au tracé de […]