In an elegant salon on the place Vendôme in Paris, Devambez perpetuated a prestigious tradition of luxury publishing, fine stationery and large format printing.

Founded in 1826, Devambez is unusual in that it brought together three activities, namely heraldic engraving for royal families, publishing, and art gallery management.

The famous gallery revealed scandalous drawings by Auguste Rodin and displayed the works of avant-garde artists such as Braque, Dufy, Matisse, Picasso, Modigliani and Foujita. It also organized the first ever exhibition of African and Oceanic art, with a catalogue featuring an introduction by the great poet Guillaume Apollinaire.

Devambez published some thirty limited edition art books illustrated by the leading artists exhibited in the gallery. Authors included major writers such as Joris-Karl Huysmans, Gustave Flaubert, Anatole France, Pierre Loti, Alphonse de Châteaubriant, Oscar Wilde and  Paul Verlaine.

In 1928, Paul Poiret chose Devambez to publish his famous guide to Parisian luxury, entitled PAN. Annuaire du luxe à Paris. This book symbolizes the quest for elegance that makes Devambez a true artist of paper.

A quest that has spanned the years and which, in 2011, saw the publication of the book entitled Goyard: a precious limited edition of 233 copies, which revived techniques of typography faithful to the timeless ideal of refinement that has always characterized Devambez.

Dans un élégant salon de la place Vendôme, Devambez retisse le lien avec le luxe éditorial et les traditions de papeterie et d’impression grande mesure que la maison veut perpétuer.

Fondée en 1826, la maison Devambez a la particularité d’avoir réuni les activités de graveur héraldique des familles royales, d’éditeur et de galeriste.

Renommée, la galerie dévoile les dessins sulfureux de Rodin et porte aux cimaises la nouvelle garde artistique : Braque, Dufy, Matisse, Picasso, Modigliani et Foujita. Elle organise la première exposition d’art africain et océanien et édite  à cette occasion un texte de Guillaume Apollinaire en guise d’introduction au catalogue.

Devambez publie une trentaine de livres d’art en édition limitée, illustrés par les plus grands artistes de la galerie. Les auteurs sont entre autres Joris-Karl Huysmans, Gustave Flaubert, Anatole France, Pierre Loti, Alphonse de Châteaubriant, Oscar Wilde ou Paul Verlaine.

En 1928, Paul Poiret y fait éditer son célèbre ouvrage PAN. Annuaire du luxe à Paris. Cet ouvrage symbolise la quête d’élégance qui fait de Devambez un artiste du papier.

Cette recherche qui traverse l’histoire voit, en 2011, la publication de l’ouvrage Goyard. Une édition précieuse, tirée à 233 exemplaires, qui renouvelle les techniques d’impression typographique selon l’idéal intemporel de raffinement caractéristique de la maison.